Mark B. – tech

SQL Server-Restart Recovery-Database Startup Sequence

The startup process of any system is a very interesting stage. Ever since I was exposed to the world of computers, I was fascinated with the POST (Power On Self Test) sequence, about which I learnt and explored in detail when I studied Electronics & Communications engineering. SQL Server is a server system on it’s own and therefore, I recently had a yearning for learning about the SQL Server startup sequence.

Now, I know that the SQL Server startup process involves an Undo-Redo phase for rolling forward/backward open transactions in each database, but the questions that kept cropping up in my mind were:

  1. When the SQL Server starts, what is the first database that is made online? Answer: Master
  2. When are user databases made available in the startup sequence? Answer: After all system databases have been recovered
  3. When is the tempdb available? Answer: After the master, resource and model databases are recovered (in that sequence)

 

more details : http://beyondrelational.com/modules/2/blogs/77/Posts/18002/0210-sql-server-restart-recovery-database-startup-sequence.aspx?goback=%2Egde_86080_member_182487080

This entry was published on November 26, 2012 at 9:39 am. It’s filed under IT, IT - Tutorial, Programming, Tutorial and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “SQL Server-Restart Recovery-Database Startup Sequence

  1. I found this website very interesting and I just wanna thank you for that. I hope you keep up the good work!

  2. This is a cool blog over here. I think I’ll visit your website more if you post more of this kind of specific information. Thanks a lot for posting this information.

  3. Nice site over here! I’ll just wanna thank you for that. If you like to visit my website check out our website to please! thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

